PrecisionDrop

This organized deposit machine can put accurately (~10µm) micro drops (~10µl) of a biological solution.

Who ?

CHEX, or "Chirurgie Expérimentale" (Experimental Surgery), is a UCL research laboratory that aims to study the physiopathological problems related to the practice of visceral surgery and the development of new therapies involving either surgical technical progress or new fundamental knowledge.

What for ?

As part of its research activities, CHEX uses techniques combining sophisticated surgical procedures and biochemistry, physiology, immunology and molecular biology analyzes. In order to carry this out, a new tool was needed. It is a robot capable of depositing micro droplets according to a pattern, a speed, a flow rate and a droplet spacing that can be parameterized.

Development

Quimesis has brought its expertise from the beginning of the project, to arrive at a prototype and then to a final device. The goal was to develop the mechanical aspects of the device, which is the mechanism of movement of the needle, or a syringe pump, along an "x-y" axis with a precision of the order of a micron. In order to control and program the movement of that needle, or pump, the QuimBox and its embedded software were used.

 

Back

Interested in our products or skills?

Contact us

PrecisionDrop

Cette machine de dépôt organisé permet de déposer de manière très précise (~10µm) des micro gouttes (~10µl) d'une solution biologique.

Qui ?

Le CHEX, ou Chirurgie Expérimentale, est un laboratoire de recherche de l'UCL qui a pour objectif l'étude des problèmes physiopathologiques liés à la pratique de la chirurgie viscérale et la mise au point de nouvelles thérapies impliquant soit des progrès techniques chirurgicaux, soit de nouvelles connaissances fondamentales.

 

Pourquoi ?

Dans le cadre de ses activités de recherche, le CHEX utilise des techniques combinant des actes chirurgicaux sophistiqués et des analyses de biochimie, de physiologie, d’immunologie et de biologie moléculaire. Afin de mener à bien cela, un nouvel outil a été nécessaire. Il s'agit d'un robot capable de déposer des micro gouttelettes selon un pattern, une vitesse, un débit et un espacement entre gouttelettes, paramétrables. 

 

Dévelopement

Quimesis a apporté son expertise depuis le début du projet, pour arriver à un prototype et ensuite à un appareil final. Il aura été question de développer les aspects mécaniques du device, le mécanisme de déplacement d'une aiguille ou d'un pousse-seringue selon un axe "x-y" avec une précision de l'odre du micron. Afin de pouvoir contrôler et programmer le déplacement de l'aiguille ou du pousse-seringue, la QuimBox et son logiciel embarqué ont été utilisés. 

 

Retour

Plus d'infos sur nos produits ou compétences ?

Contactez nous