The TPM

This device helps foresters to inventorize, measure and evaluate their forests. Its embedded 3D camera allows to measure the volume of the trees, and much more. Quimesis has been responsible to develop the complete electronics and software needed to turn the initial idea into a viable product.

Who ?

TimbTrack is a belgian startup company whose vision is to simplify forestry management. The founder, Quentin d’Huart, has for long identified the need of landowners to know better their domains. By introducing technology on this usually traditional market, he gives them the ability to monitor, to measure and to evaluate their forests in seconds.

What for ?

The TPM is the measuring device for the new generation of foresters. It integrates the latest technologies (3D camera, range finders, GPS, compass, …) to measure, to register, and to classify quickly and easily a complete forest.

The primary goal of the device is to measure the volume of trees. This is done by measuring the height and the circumference with the TPM. Each data is localized and saved in the device before being uploaded to the management platform, in the cloud.

Development

Quimesis has been involved in the project from its inception to the serial production. We mainly focused on the device custom electronics and the embedded software, while working closely with the shell design team.

The engineers carried out multiple preliminary studies to select the best components and developed a robust algorithm to retrieve the volume of the trees based on the information reported by the embedded sensors.

The solution has been field-tested and improved for many months before launching the industrialization process.

 

Back

Interested in our products or skills?

Contact us

The TPM

Ce dispositif aide les exploitants forestiers à répertorier, mesurer et évaluer les arbres présents dans leurs forêts. Sa caméra 3D intégrée permet de mesurer le volume des arbres, et bien plus encore. Quimesis a été responsable du développement électronique et informatique complets de l’appareil. Nous avons donc transformé l'idée initiale en un produit viable.

Qui ?

TimbTrack est une startup belge dont la vision est de simplifier la gestion forestière. Le fondateur, Quentin d'Huart, a bien identifié les besoins des propriétaires terriens afin qu’ils acquièrent une meilleure connaissance de leurs domaines. En introduisant cette nouvelle technologie sur ce marché, qui est généralement très conservateur, il leur donne la possibilité de surveiller, de mesurer et d'évaluer leurs forêts en quelques secondes.

Pourquoi ?

Le TPM est le dispositif de mesure pour la nouvelle génération de forestiers. Il intègre les dernières technologies (caméra 3D, télémètres, GPS, boussole, ...) pour mesurer, enregistrer, classer rapidement et facilement une forêt complète.

Le principal objectif du dispositif est de mesurer le volume des arbres. Ceci est réalisé en mesurant la hauteur ainsi que la circonférence du tronc avec le TPM. Chaque donnée est localisée et enregistrée dans l'appareil avant d'être transférée à sur la plate-forme de gestion, dans le cloud.

Développement

Quimesis a été impliqué dans le projet depuis le tout début, partant de l’idée de base jusqu'à la fabrication en série. Nous nous sommes concentrés principalement sur l'électronique personnalisée et la programmation, tout en travaillant en étroite collaboration avec l'équipe concevant la coque.

Les ingénieurs ont effectué plusieurs études préliminaires afin de sélectionner les meilleurs composants. Ils ont ensuite développé un algorithme robuste pour mesurer le volume des arbres à partir des informations fournies par les capteurs embarqués.


La solution a été testée sur le terrain et améliorée pendant plusieurs mois avant de lancer le processus d'industrialisation.

 

Retour

Plus d'infos sur nos produits ou compétences ?

Contactez nous